Erilynne's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

In A World Like This December 28, 2013

Filed under: Tour — erilynne @ 3:56 am

August 12, 2013

Concert day! It’s been a little over 2 years since I last saw Backstreet Boys in concert but this year was a special one. I have never seen Kevin live with the other boys so I was beyond thrilled to finally see him & him be part of the show like old times. It was also noteworthy because of it being almost the exact date of the 5th anniversary of my first time seeing them live, which was August 14th 2008. I purchased a VIP a couple months ago as it’s become a “tour tradition” every time I see them, I couldn’t meet them as I just got a Bronze VIP but I’ve had Bronze a couple of times and I love it that I can just breathe easy without the anxiety of leading up to meet them. Although I do hope to meet them in the future again.

So I took the train in to Boston around 2pm with my mom who was accompanying me till my concert buddy got off of work at 5pm. We got to the venue around 3pm. I then got in line & waited till Justin came out to give us our VIP passes, we saw the Wylee Trailer parked right in front of the venue too. I don’t remember when time Justin came out but it was a little after 4pm, once I got my VIP pass we waited a little bit more in the venue till we were lead to our seats. Some of the boys were already on the stage when we were walking in & I don’t know how these boys do it but they put the biggest smile on my face when I see them. I saw Kevin on his piano first so obviously you can imagine the excitement there. A scream went through my mind like the mother in Home Alone. I then saw Brian sitting on a stool playing with his guitar & everyone who knows me knows he means the world to me. The rest of the boys then came on stage and welcome us to the Soundcheck Party.

Image

Image

They sang Quit Playing Games, Safest Place To Hide, 10,000 Promises & Madeleine(off the new album) in an acoustic setting. A happy fact with that is Brian was sitting right in front of me (: It’s been since the Unbreakable tour last time Brian got to use his guitar so I liked this new addition they added to the tour. They asked if we had any song requests for them to sing that weren’t in the show a few were shouted out, Nick suggested Make Believe which I would have LOVED to hear but they ended up singing “Trust Me” off the new album. Brian’s impressions he was doing with all the lyrics in the song cracked me up. As it being a popular soundcheck song in the past, I missed hearing Siberia. We got to the Q&A and some questions asked were like what their craziest things a fan has ever done in the 20 years. AJ joked about how a lot of stuffed has happened. Kevin mentioned how a girl showed up at one of the after parties in a wedding dress. Someone asked Kevin how it felt to be back, another question was from a girl who came all the way from São Paulo, Brazil to see them & wanted to know when they were touring Brazil. Brian joked “tomorrow” haha There were fans who came from Argentina as well, that I actually talked to for a bit while waiting in the line before soundcheck. They then headed off the stage to take pictures with the VIP’s with meet & greets but before that Brian took out his phone and took a picture of us and posted it on his instagram! He’s done these “soundcheck photos” in the past and I always thought it would be cool to be in one. So I got to be part of one now!

Brian’s Instagram Soundcheck photo

Image

It was after 5pm now so I had to meet up with my concert buddy but before that my mom & I visited the Wylee Trailer where I picked up my pre-order. I love seeing Leighanne, she’s simple just awesome & so friendly just like her husband (Brian). My mom complimented her how I’m always buying from the Wylee line and she was so appreciative and thanking me. She liked my shirt I had on, which was a Vintage B T-shirt from Wylee 🙂 I didn’t know who Scott was but I did know he was helping with the traveling of the Wylee trailer  to the concert cities & pre-orders with the Wylee crew. He was a a funny guy to talked to. Jodi (Leighanne’s friend) was also fun to talk to, she helped me with picking stuff out & showing me items. This was the 2nd tour I got to shop in the Wylee trailer & I just want it as my closet because it’s the cutest looking shop inside & just so perfect. Before I left I got a hug & picture with Leighanne. When we were taking it we fixed our hair at the same time and she commented on it. haha I thanked her then asked her what time Baylee was going on because I didn’t want to miss him. She told me 7pm and how she had to start getting ready to go inside too. I left to go get a quick dinner then we went inside to sit for the show to start. It was slowly getting really muggy out. Ugh, outside venues! 

Image

They had this incredible LED stage that was really an extraordinary setup. Baylee (Brian’s son) was the first opening act and Brian walked out with him to introduce him. That boy definitely inherited his father’s vocal talents & his parents smiles couldn’t have been any bigger than they were watching him sing. He was  awesome! He sang 2 songs -Michael Jackson’s “I Want You Back” & Mariah Carey’s “Fantasy”. DJ Pauly D was up after and I already saw him when I saw Britney Spears Femme Fatale Tour as he was the opening at there so I……sat down. Which was a pretty good choice with all the fist pumping he made everyone do, I really didn’t want to get knocked in the face with someone’s elbow. Jesse McCarthy was the next & last act up and I was really looking forward to him. He sang some of his old hits & some new songs from his upcoming EP that is being released in a couple months.

Image

Image

Image

Backstreet Boys hit the stage then and opened the show with “The Call” They still got the moves! Especially with the next song they danced/sang to being “Don’t Want You Back”. (Which oh my gosh that song is amazing live) You can just tell by their stage presence they are just THERE. The notes, choreography, etc, It’s just all there and it’s perfect. They really are the best of the best. They all each gave a speech before a song throughout the concert with jokes but also they thanked us for giving them 20 years of doing what they love and you could tell they were truly grateful at what they’ve been able to do & continue to do their passion. “As Long As You Love Me” is one of my favorite songs that I absolutely love. They danced the original choreography for it too! As this being their 20th Anniversary Tour they brought out a lot of their old songs choreography they haven’t done in years, some being over 10 years since they did them. So this show really was a trip down memory lane. They sang of course songs from their new album as well. “Breathe” being my favorite on the album I was really excited to see that live. They had 2 intermissions during the concert, one being a funny skit where they were each asked questions on who the silly one in the group, the sexiest one, the serious one & the high maintenance diva, all while they changed in the 2 minutes. The other was a preview to their documentary that will be coming out next year in 2014. Just like soundcheck, they had an acoustic setting part of the show. Only this time, they had fans onstage with them while they sang the songs. Before they started, they talked about how this was how they got their record deal. Singing acoustically. They ended the show with “Larger than Life” & an encore of “Everybody (Backstreet’s Back)”. I really enjoyed this concert, each tour I see, I like it better than the last one. Happy 20th Anniversary, boys! To many more. ♥

 

Leave a Reply

